The mid-year book freakout tag, 2018

So here we are again! Last year when I started off my blog I did this tag and I wanted to do this again! Especially so because the questions are so interesting and they make me think of the books I’ve read so far!

The original creators are Read Like Wildfire and Earl Grey Books and you can watch their original videos here: Read Like Wildfire & Earl Grey Books.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2018.

  • I think that one would be, as of right now, Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann. If you read my blog you know how much I loved this book, and I really can’t shut up about it. I have a spoiler free review up if you are interested in reading my thoughts about it.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2018.

  • I hasn’t really read many sequels so far this year, as usually I just started new series, but I finally go around read the sequel to A Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers which I truly adored last year. The sequel’s title is A Closed And Common Orbit and guess what? I really loved this book as well! I have a spoiler free review of this book as well, if you are interested!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

  • Ace of Shades, Neverless, The Cruel Prince, The Hazel Wood, just to mention a couple. I’m actually pretty sad I hasn’t gotten around reading Ace of Shades when I was on the street team for it. But I really want to get it soon!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

  • Vengeful by V. E. Schwab. Even though I still need to read Vicious first but I have a feeling I’ll enjoy them a lot! Also City of Ghosts by her!

5. Biggest disappointment.

  • Okay, don’t hate me, to me it was Children of Blood and Bone. The romance ruined it for me, the hype was so high, everyone was praising the book but ultimately I just didn’t like it, even though I really wanted to! You can find my more indepth thoughts about here.

6. Biggest surprise.

  • I think that’s also Let’s Talk About Love. I’m not one for romance books, nor contemporary books so it was a huge surprise that I loved that book as much as I did.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

  • I have quite a few actually: Angie Thomas, Claire Kann, Tomi Adeyemi, Deborah Harkness, C.S. Pacat

8. Newest fictional crush.

  • Honestly so far this year there wasn’t really any characters that caught my attention.

9. Newest favourite character

  • As I answered the previous question, there wasn’t really any new characters that caught my attention, sadly. Let’s hope I’ll find some great characters in the next half of the year.

10. Book that made you cry.

  • Interestingly enough there hasn’t been one so far this year. Or I just really don’t cry easily.

11. Book that made you happy.

  • This is rather a manga series, and that one is Fairy Tail. I really liked the anime as a teen, and I did read some of the manga but I just couldn’t remember where I left off, so I decided to reread and it just makes me really happy that I get to read it again.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

  • Probably he 3rd Maze Runner movie. I think that the movie ended up so much better than the book, and I just really, really love Thomas Brodie-Sangster.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year. (Booktube version: Favourite video you have done so far in this year)

  • To be honest I’m always reluctant to choose one, I still have places to grow when it comes to critically reviewing books.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

  • That’s probably the State of Sorrow by Melinda Salisbury.

dcdbbd1f-39d4-4572-bbb2-aaf5e156f7a4

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

  • Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel, the last two Raven Boys books, The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, just to mention a couple that are on my yearly TBR that I hasn’t gotten to.

So this would be the tag, hope you guys enjoyed it and you want to do it I tag you!

17 thoughts on “The mid-year book freakout tag, 2018

  1. I will definitely be doing this tag later on in this month. I definitely need to read the new releases you mentioned too. I’m surprised we haven’t read Ace of Shades yet! I really need to get on that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did this tag right at the beginning of my blog last year too! I haven’t read Ace Of Shades yet either 🙈 It’ll be interesting to do this tag again!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment